Live Traffic Feed

Wednesday, April 19, 2006

Trinidad & Tobago announces World Cup Team

Most coaches are defining the final squad they will take to the World Cup. Just like Leo Beenhakker, Trinidad and Tobago's coach. He has announced a provisional 24-man squad he will take to Germany.One of the most important players is former Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke, now with Sydney. But the team also has British-based players in the squad include Coventry's Stern John, Port Vale's Chris Birchall, West Ham's Shaka Hislop and Gillingham's Ian Cox."Before making the final choice, we did our homework the best we could," Beenhakker told the press."I must protect the players also who brought us to Germany. They have to be credited and there must be balance in the group.The manager was honest: "I want to thank specially all the players who are not on the list but were on the road to Germany and I understand for the moment I have made 24 players happy."I really understand much better that I have disappointed now many players from Trinidad and Tobago. However, I can assure them that the decisions we made were made in relation to looking for the best of the team."Trinidad and Tobago list:Keepers: Kelvin Jack (Dundee), Shaka Hislop (West Ham), Clayton Ince (Coventry City)Defenders: Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham) Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Marvin Andrews (Rangers), Brent Sancho (Gillingham), Ian Cox (Gillingham), Atiba Charles (W Connection), Avery John (New England Revolution).Midfielders: Silvio Spann (unattached), Chris Birchall (Port Vale), Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Anthony Rougier (United Petrotrin), Anthony Wolfe (San Juan Jabloteh), Densill Theobald (Falkirk), Carlos Edwards (Luton), Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC), Russell Latapy (Falkirk).Strikers: Jason Scotland (St Johnstone), Stern John (Coventry), Kenwyne Jones (Southampton), Collin Samuel (Dundee), Cornell Glen (LA Galaxy)