Live Traffic Feed

Sunday, May 21, 2006

England squad included Rooney and Walcott

England squad included Rooney and Walcott

The injured Manchester United FC forward Wayne Rooney has been named in Sven-Göran Eriksson's provisional 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup in Germany.

Striking problems
The 20-year-old broke a metatarsal bone in United's 3-0 defeat by Chelsea FC on Saturday 29 April. He is not expected to be fit again until the second week of June at the earliest, with England due to open their campaign against Paraguay on 10 June. Fellow striker Michael Owen is also in the selection after just recovering from a similar problem.

'A gamble'
There was also a shock call-up for 17-year-old Theo Walcott, who has yet to play in the Premiership for Arsenal FC. "I thought a lot about it during the last month," said Eriksson. "It is a gamble, of course it is a gamble, I can't deny that. But it is a nice one. He is a great talent, the pace he has is incredible. Michael Owen will be fully fit to train 100 per cent with us. It is just for us to wait and hope and see with Wayne Rooney."

England squad

Goalkeepers: Paul Robinson (Tottenham Hotspur FC), David James (Manchester City FC), Robert Green (Norwich City FC).

Defenders: Gary Neville (Manchester United FC), Sol Campbell (Arsenal FC), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United FC), John Terry (Chelsea FC), Jamie Carragher (Liverpool FC), Ashley Cole (Arsenal FC), Wayne Bridge (Chelsea FC).

Midfielders: David Beckham (Real Madrid CF), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC), Frank Lampard (Chelsea FC), Owen Hargreaves (FC Bayern München), Jermaine Jenas (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Michael Carrick (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Joe Cole (Chelsea FC), Stuart Downing (Middlesbrough FC), Aaron Lennon (Tottenham Hotspur FC).

Forwards: Wayne Rooney (Manchester United FC), Michael Owen (Newcastle United FC), Peter Crouch (Liverpool FC), Theo Walcott (Arsenal FC).

Standby: Scott Carson (Liverpool FC), Luke Young (Charlton Athletic FC), Nigel Reo-Coker (West Ham United FC), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Andy Johnson (Crystal Palace FC).

[Source from :]